Vegan KickStart

Stayed on the vegan course all day today!! I didn’t really follow the kickstart menu today though because I had already done my grocery shopping before I got the menu but stayed vegan anyway!

For breakfast I ate my Vegan Breakfast Sandwich! After looking for a recipe online I decided to just come up with my own! The photo isn’t great – I’m still learning how to photograph food.  It’s an english muffin, vegan sausage, Daiya Cheddar Cheese and marinated tofu. I attribute my success to the tofu prep.  I sliced it into thin rectangle “cutlets” and dry fried it. Then soaked it in a better than broth, pepper, turmeric, oregano, and nutritional yeast bath.  Then I pan-fried it again with a little PAM cooking spray. I prepared the whole block of tofu so I could eat it for a couple of days.  It was SO good!! And my husband ate it too – that’s always the biggest complement, since he is a “meatatarian”…in his words. He did put real cheese on it that he got from the farmers market, he’s not really ready to go vegan.

I had leftover tempeh chili for lunch with some mini clementines and a slice of my delicious vegan cake. It can be hard to stick to my vegan diet at school. There is always food around and I also get pretty hungry from being on my feet all day. So it’s important to bring plenty of healthy vegan food.

And dinner was a vegan quesadilla with salsa and Tofutti sour cream.

The real goal is not just about being Vegan.  I want to lose 50 pounds by next August. It’s a lofty goal but needs to be done so I can be at a healthy weight before we decide to start a family. I started in July and I’m down 15 pounds!! Yippee! 35 pounds to go! So it’s for my health, for the planet and for the animals.

Leave a Reply

