Cooking hit and miss…

As much as I enjoy cooking and feel fairly competent at it, I still have times when I make things and they just taste bad.  The Mr. says “when it comes to teaching and cooking you are too hard on yourself.” There is definitely some truth to this! But that aside, dinner tonight was not good.  I tried to make vegetable paella and it just didn’t turn out right. I blame the recipe. 🙂 There was a funny taste and neither the Mr. or myself liked it, so the whole thing went into the garbage. Serious bummer.  Not only did I feel like I failed but it was also a gross waste of food.

I also experimented with Kale tonight. I’ve been reading a lot about how it’s a “nutritional powerhouse.” Especially for vegans so I’ve been wanting to try it.  I made Kale chips and sauteed kale. I wouldn’t say either was a success or a failure. I am still on the fence about it.  I guess I need more practice with that veggie.

On the bright side, I made Carrot Spice and Cinnamon Swirl mini muffins that are just delightful! I got the recipes from FatFree Vegan. So they’re healthy too! I just used a mini-muffin tin instead of regular size.

I am traveling this weekend so I was trying to make some snacks for the plane. I don’t think the kale will hold up but the muffins should be good. I guess I can’t win em’ all…

Leave a Reply

