Cooking and Football

It’s become a bit of a tradition that Sundays are for cooking and football.  The Mr. watches football all afternoon and I cook/bake away in the kitchen.  I have come to really enjoy this time actually.  I don’t particularly enjoy football and my husband doesn’t really cook so it’s a time when we can both enjoy our hobbies.

In the recent issue of VegNews there is a recipe for Triple Threat Gingersnaps and I had been itching to make them since I saw the recipe. So this weekend I compiled all the ingredients and got to work.  The results were amazing and complete heaven. They are not fatfree so definitely a treat, but totally vegan! I left some without the creme filling but couldn’t resist the option to create a creme filled gingersnap sandwich. Divine. 🙂

For dinner I made a batch of Italian tomato white bean soup. I adapted a recipe I found in Cooking light awhile back. I made it vegan and added a bunch of kale, so I’m calling it Italian tomato kale soup. It was hearty and delicious. I used an immersion blender to puree it but this step is entirely unnecessary. I mostly do it to make the texture more appealing to the Mr. He neither likes beans or kale so I kind of have to hide them and make the flavor mask those ingredients.

I am still working on my food photography and my camera doesn’t always cooperate but I want to get as many pictures as I can on my blog to show how amazing and diverse vegan eating can be.

** Sorry I didn’t have the soup recipe ready yesterday when I posted but here it is! Cooking light is great resource for soup recipes, well really  all recipes. Often veganizing them only takes a few changes and the results are fantastic!

Italian Tomato and Kale Soup

You can substitute navy beans for the cannellini beans, if preferred.
Yield:  4 servings (serving size: 2 cups soup)

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
3 garlic cloves, crushed
2 (14.5-ounce) cans no-salt-added whole tomatoes, undrained and chopped
2 (16-ounce) cans cannellini or other white beans, drained
1 (14 1/2-ounce) can vegetable broth
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
1 Tablespoon Italian seasonings
1/4 teaspoon fresh black pepper

1 bunch of green kale or spinach

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic, and sauté 4 minutes or until tender. Add tomatoes and next 5 ingredients (tomatoes through pepper), and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Wilt in the kale until cooked.  If you want – use immersion blender to puree for a “creamy” soup. Stir in the nutritional yeast.  Ladle into bowls and enjoy!

Adapted from Cooking Light recipe, OCTOBER 1997

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jaime on October 4, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    I want to try your tomato kale soup! Probably the recipe is on the blog somewhere, but I can’t seem to see it. It looks really good! As does everything else!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

