Roasted Garlic and Vegetable Soup

I love soup. Hot, steamy, and healthy soup. Everyone at my school seems to be sick. There was something like 6 teachers out yesterday and who knows how many kids.  So with the slightest hint of a sore throat and something a little “funny” with my stomach, I knew I needed a soup night.  A hearty nutritious vitamin and mineral packed soup. I didn’t have a recipe but I knew I had a ton of veggies in the fridge that needed to be used and a craving for some roasted garlic. Here’s what I came up with…

Roasted Garlic and Vegetable Soup

1 head of garlic – wrapped in tin foil and roasted with the veggies

2 large potatoes, one zucchini and half an onion – all diced and thrown on a cookie sheet with salt and pepper and a little olive oil. Roast until a fork goes in easy.

Finely chop and saute carrots, onion, and celery until soft. Add 4-6 cups of vegetable stock, chopped spinach, a can of your favorite bean, frozen corn and bring to a boil.  Add in spices of your choice – I used Italian seasoning. And simmer till the other veggies are done.

I had some cooked grains in the fridge so I threw those in too! Then I took the roasted veggies and dumped those in – as well as the entire head of roasted garlic!! Garlic has immune boosting qualities, right???

All I can say is YUM! I ate a gigantic bowl and have a feeling it’s going to taste even better tomorrow. Sorry it’s not exactly a “recipe.” I threw in what veggies/grains I had. I think the roasted veggies and garlic take more time but are worth the extra effort. The garlic gives a delicious flavor. Happy cooking – let me know if you whip up a batch of your own!

Roasted Garlic and Veggie Soup

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by sandy clark on November 8, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    sounds like a good soup, uncle ronnie would probably love it as he loves garlic, puts it in practically everything.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

